الصفحة الرئيسية / البحرين

البحرين

oil-well-in-Bahrain
بئر نفطي في البحرين. Photo Ismail Al Mahari

المحتويات

النفط
الغاز الطبيعي
الكهرباء
الطاقة المتجددة

تعتبر مملكة البحرين أصغر دولة من دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي ، من حيث المساحة، وتتألف بشكلٍ كامل من مجموعة جزر (أرخبيل). ومع ذلك، ومع وجود أكثر من 1,3 مليون مواطن، تحتوي البلاد عدد سكانٍ أكبر من جارتها قطر (حوالي 313 ألف مواطن). تشهد الجزيرة الرئيسية، حيث توجد العاصمة المنامة، كثافة سكانية مرتفعة. كما تمتلك البحرين أقل موارد للنفط والغاز في منطقة الخليج، إلا أنّ النفط والغاز يلعبان دوراً غاية في الأهمية، بالرغم من تناقصهما، في اقتصاد المملكة.

فمملكة البحرين أقدم مُنتجٍ للنفط في منطقة الخليج، نظراً لكونها أول دولة خليجية تكتشف النفط الخام حيث قامت ببناء أول بئرٍ عام 1932. فقد أنشأت مصفاة البحرين عام 1936، حيث تُصدر معظم نفطها من المنتجات البترولية المكررة بدلاً من النفط الخام. تُشكّل هذه الصادرات نحو 60% من صادرات البحرين و70% من الإيرادات الحكومية. يوجد في البحرين نوعين رئيسيين من الصناعات الكثيفة للنفط والغاز، وهي صهر الالمنيوم والتكرير. ومع ذلك، يعتبر اقتصاد البلاد واحداً من الأكثر تنوعاً في المنطقة.

البحرين ليست عضواً في منظمة أوبك ، على الرغم من حقيقة أنّ إيراداتها تأتي بشكلٍ أساسي من التكرير. كما أنها منتج متوسط الحجم للغاز الطبيعي، كما أن البلاد مكتفية ذاتياً من الغاز لتوليد احتياجاتها من الكهرباء. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن نصيب الفرد من استهلاك الطاقة مرتفعٌ جداً، إذ يبلغ حوالي 800 مليون وحدة حرارية بريطانية سنوياً، مما يعكس الاحتياجات الضخمة للطاقة لتكييف الهواء، وتكرير النفط، وتحلية المياه، وصهر الألمنيوم.

الخريطة 1. البحرين و الدول المجاورة لها. @ Fanack

النفط

في عام 2015، بلغت احتياطيات النفط المؤكدة في البحرين 100 مليون برميل على الأقل، وجميعها تقع في حقل عوالي البري. ومع ذلك، وفقاً لمجلة العربية للتجارة، قد يكون هذا الرقم أعلى بكثير. فبالإضافة إلى الـ50,581 برميل يومياً المنتجة في أراضيها في عام 2015، تشترك البحرين والمملكة العربية السعودية بحصة 300 ألف برميل يومياً من إنتاج النفط من حقل أبو سعفة البحري. يتم احتساب هذا الرقم ضمن أرقام إنتاج النفط السعودي، إلا أنه يتم تخصيص نصف الإنتاج للبحرين. ووفقاً لشركة نفط البحرين (بابكو)، حصلت البحرين في عام 2015 على 150,942 برميل يومياً من حقل أبو سفعة. شركة تطوير للبترول هي الشركة المسؤولة عن الإدارة- وهي مملوكة من قِبل بابكو، وأوكسيدنتال بتروليوم، وشركة مبادلة للتنمية التابعة لأبوظبي في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. تقوم تطوير للبترول بحفر آبارٍ جديدة وتحاول استخدام حقن البخار في محاولةٍ لزيادة الإنتاج. وفي عام 2014، استثمرت 3,5 مليار دولار لتعزيز إنتاج الحقل في البلاد. يتمثل الهدف في زيادة الإنتاج إلى 100 ألف برميل يومياً في غضون السنوات الثلاث إلى الأربع القادمة، أي بحلول عام 2020.

تبلغ الطاقة الإسمية لمصفاة البحرين 262,000 برميل يومياً من الطاقة الإنتاجية للنفط الخام، على الرغم من تشغيل المصفاة في بعض الأحيان بما يفوق طاقتها الاعتيادية؛ حيث وصلت إلى 276,676 برميل يومياً عام 2015. تمتلك شركة نفط البحرين (بابكو)، المملوكة بالكامل للحكومة، المصفاة وتديرها. بالمجمل، بلغ إنتاج مصفاة البحرين عام 2015، 98,117 مليون برميل، منها 10,480 مليون برميل استهلكت محلياً و87,637 مليون برميل صُدرت للخارج.

ووفقاً لقناة العربية الإخبارية، تخطط بابكو لاستثمار 6 مليار دولار لزيادة طاقة تكرير النفط الخام إلى 360 ألف برميل يومياً بحلول عام 2018، وإنشاء أنابيب جديدة للنفط من المملكة العربية السعودية لتوفير المواد الخام بما يفوق الحاجة المحلية في البحرين.

الخريطة (2): حقل العوالي البري في البحرين وحقل أبو سعفة البحري المشترك بين البحرين والمملكة العربية السعودية. اضغط للتكبير. ©Fanack

وفي عام 2015، وقعت البحرين والمملكة العربية السعودية اتفاقاً لتقاسم مشروع خط أنابيب جديد للنفط. تم إرساء مناقصة بناء المشروع على شركة الرابية، في حين أن شركة الإنشاءات البترولية الوطنية الإماراتية ستتولى أمر بناء الأنابيب تحت البحر. وبحلول عام 2016، كانت هذه الخطط في المرحلة المالية الختامية.

الغاز الطبيعي

وفقاً لأطلس بيانات العالم، قُدرت احتياطيات الغاز الطبيعي الجاف المؤكدة في البحرين عام 2015 بـ3,30 تريليون قدم مكعب، والتي تعتبر أصغر احتياطيات لأي دولة من الدول المطلة على الخليج العربي. معظم هذه الاحتياطيات مرتبطة بحقول النفط في البحرين. ومع ذلك، كانت هذه الاحتياطيات كافيةً لتلبية استهلاك المملكة لسنواتٍ عديدة. فقد تم تأسيس شركة غاز البحرين الوطنية (بناغاز)، عام 1979 لاستخراج الغاز الطبيعي المصاحب للنفط في حقل عوالي، الذي سبق وتم حرقه. شكلت البحرين شركة بناغاز لمعالجة الغاز المصاحب للنفط إلى منتجات قابلة للتسويق وتوريد الغاز المتبقي للاستخدام الصناعي المحلي. إن ثلاثة أرباع شركة بناغاز مملوكة للدولة، فيما الحصص المتبقية مملوكة لشركة الاستثمارات البترولية الدولية (أيبيك) وشركة كالتكس البحرين (شيفرون)، بنسبة 12,5% لكلٍ منها.

في عام 2015، أنتجت البحرين حوالي 751,615 مليون قدم مكعب من الغاز، وهي كمية لا تلبي احتياجات البلاد. وبالفعل في عام 2013، بلغ استهلاك الغاز الطبيعي في البحرين 15,7 مليار متر مكعب.

الشكل (1): إنتاج البحرين من الغاز مقارنةً بالاستهلاك النهائي. اضغط للتكبير. أنقر للتكبير. @ Fanack

أجبرت هذه الفجوة المتزايدة الحكومة البحرينية على اتخاذ تدابير مختلفة. فقد رفعت المملكة بالفعل السعر المحلي عام 2012 بنسبة تصل إلى 50% إلى 2,25 دولار لكل مليون وحدة حرارية بريطانية، وذلك لتخفيف نمو الطلب. ومن أجل توليد موارد جديدة من حقل عوالي، أصدرت المملكة أيضاً مناقصات استشكاف مختلفة وعملت على جذب الاستثمارات في قطاع الغاز الطبيعي المسال. وفي عام 2012، قررت البحرين بناء منشأة لاستيراد الغاز الطبيعي المسال لدعم إمدادات الغاز الطبيعي. وفي عام 2015، وقعت إتفاقاً على مشروع إنشاء وتشغيل محطة للغاز الطبيعي المسال مع اتحاد شركات مؤلف من شركة تيكاي الكندية للغاز الطبيعي المسال (Teekay LNG)، وشركة سامسونج سي آند تي كوروبريشن الكورية، ومؤسسة الخليج للاستثمار ومقرها الكويت (GIC). وفي عام 2016، تلقى المشروع قرضاً بقيمة 741 مليون دولار لتنفيذه. سيتم بناء هذا المشروع على محطة غاز عائمة قبالة الساحل الشمالي الشرقي لمملكة البحرين باعتباره شركة ذات مسؤولية محدودة، ويجري تطويره بشكلٍ أساسي لتلبية الاحتياجات المحلية لإنتاج الطاقة في فترات الذروة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تستثمر شركة جازبروم الروسية في محطة للغاز الطبيعي المسال في البحرين بهدف تحويل الجزيرة إلى مركز للغاز الطبيعي المسال لتزويد المنطقة بالغاز، حيث يتم بناء المحطة حالياً بتكلفة 600 مليون دولار، ومن المخطط أن يتم التشغيل التجريبي في عام 2018.

وفي عام 2016، وقعت شركة تطوير للبترول عقداً بقيمة 100 مليون دولار مع الشركة البريطانية بتروفاك لبناء منشأة لتجفيف الغاز بقدرة 500 مليون قدم مكعب قياسية في اليوم. ومن المتوقع أنّ تلبي هذه المنشأة الطلب المتزايد على الغاز في البحرين. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تخطط شركة بناغاز لتطوير محطة للغاز المصاحب للنفط. فقد نشرت مناقصاتٍ لأعمال الهندسة، والتوريد، والبناء، والتشغيل التجريبي، للمشروع لثلاث شركات عالمية. وعلاوة على ذلك، أصدرت بابكو البحرين مناقصة لاستكشاف الغاز العميق.

الكهرباء

تبلغ قدرة توليد الكهرباء في البحرين 3,150 ميجاواط، إذ أن جميع هذا تقريباً من محطات التوليد الحرارية التي تعمل بالنفط أو بالغاز. يوجد خمس محطاتٍ لتوليد الكهرباء في البحرين، حيث أنّ اثنتين من أكبر المحطات بشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص، وهي شركة العزل للكهرباء (منتج مستقل للطاقة)، والتي تبلغ قدرتها 946 ميجاواط، وشركة الحد للطاقة (محطة مدمجة للمياه وتوليد الطاقة)، التي تساهم بنحو 1,006 ميجاواط إلى الشبكة. يتألف نظام النقل والتوزيع من 11 محطة فرعية (33 كيلو فولت)، و93 محطة (66 كيلو فولت)، و15 محطة فرعية (220 كيلو فولت).
وفي إطار برنامج الربط الكهربائي لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، فإن البحرين متصلة بالفعل مع كلٍ من المملكة العربية السعودية وقطر والكويت، وهي مؤهلة للحصول على ما يصل إلى 600 ميجاواط من الطاقة الكهربائية الإضافية. تتم إدارة توليد ونقل وتوزيع القطاع من قِبل وكالة حكومية هي هيئة الكهرباء والماء (إيوا).

يتم دعم الكهرباء في البحرين بشكلٍ كبير، وبالفعل في عام 2013، كلّف الدعم الدولة حوالي 935 مليون دولار. فقد بلغ الطلب على الكهرباء 13,76 مليار كيلوواط/ ساعي عام 2010، ومن المتوقع أن ينمو الطلب بنسبة 7% سنوياً حتى عام 2020. ووفقاً للبنك الدولي، سيصل الطلب على الكهرباء في البحرين إلى 19,704 جيجاواط ساعي. إن السبب وراء هذا النمو المتزايد هو برامج الإسكان الوطنية، والنمو السكاني السريع، وتزايد طلب القطاع الصناعي، وبخاصة في مصاهر الألومنيوم.

وفي عام 2013، واجهت البحرين تحدياتٍ خطيرة لانقطاع التيار الكهربائي. فقد تمكنت من الحدّ من التهديد بنسبة تتجاوز الـ27% عام 2013، إلا أنه توجب على البلاد العمل على البُنية التحتية للطاقة عن طريق تحسين ثقافة الإتكال والاستهلاك. ولتحقيق هذا الهدف، تم تعزيز كلٍ من كفاءة الطاقة ومزيج الطاقة من خلال زيادة حصة الطاقة المتجددة. ولحل هذه المسألة بالكامل، بدأت هيئة الكهرباء والماء (إيوا) في عام 2015 العمل على تحديثٍ واسع النطاق لشبكة نقل الطاقة الكهربائية (220 كيلو فولت)، فضلاً عن التوسع في طاقة توليد الكهرباء. وفي حين أن معظم الميجاواط ستأتي من المرحلة الثانية للتوسع من قِبل شركة الدر للكهرباء والماء، إلا أن هيئة الكهرباء والماء (إيوا) تعمل أيضاً على تطوير محطات صغيرة النطاق لتوليد الكهرباء من الطاقة الشمسية والنفايات، لتنويع مزيج الطاقة في البلاد.

الشكل (2): توليد الكهرباء في البحرين مقارنةً بالاستهلاك النهائي. اضغط للتكبير. أنقر للتكبير. @ Fanack
مؤشرات الطاقة في البحرين. اضغط للتكبير. . @ Fanack

ستضيف المرحلة الثانية لشركة الدر 1200-1500 ميجاواط. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، سيتم تطوير ثلاث محطات لتوليد الكهرباء في الحد، وأم الحصم، والرفاع بين عامي 2016 و2019.
وعلاوة على ذلك، ستنفذ هيئة الكهرباء والماء (أيوا) مشروع قياسٍ ذكي للاستهلاك من خلال أنظمة القراءة عن بعد والتي تهدف إلى تحسين قراءة استهلاك الكهرباء في حينه وتعزيز كفاءة الطاقة.

الطاقة المتجددة

يوجد حالياً ثلاث توربينات للرياح فقط موجودة في مركز البحرين التجاري العالمي، كمثال. ومع ذلك، في عام 2010، وضعت البحرين هدفاً بتوليد ما لا يقل عن 5% من إجمالي توليد الكهرباء من مصادر الطاقة المتجددة بحلول عام 2030. وتخطط إيوا إلى التعاقد على مشروعٍ لتوليد 3-5 ميجاواط من الطاقة الشمسية وطاقة الرياح. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يجري العمل على تطوير مشروعٍ بقدرة 5 ميجاواط من الطاقة الشمسية في جامعة البحرين. سيكلف المشروع 30 مليون دولار، وهو مشروعٌ مشترك بين بابكو وشركة نفط البحرين وعدد قليل من الشركات الأمريكية الأخرى مثل Caspian Energy Holdings و Petra Solar. ومع ذلك، فإن الجهود الحالية بسيطة مقارنةً بإمكانات البحرين لتوليد 22 تيراواط سنوياً من الطاقة الشمسية. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تعمل البحرين حالياً على مشروع مدفن عسكر لتحويل النفايات إلى كهرباء، وهي محطة سيتم من خلالها حرق النفايات الصلبة لتوليد الطاقة الكهربائية. ستبلغ تكلفة هذه المحطة 480 مليون دولار وستعالج 390 ألف طن من النفايات الصلبة، لتولد 25 ميجاواط.

وفي عام 2008، اعتمدت البحرين الرؤية الاقتصادية 2030. وتنص وثيقة السياسات هذه على وضع لوائح جديدة للطاقة للحد من انبعاثات الكربون. وكونها جزء من مجموعة الدول الجزرية الصغيرة النامية في المفاوضات الدولية حول تغير المناخ، اتخذت مملكة البحرين عدة تدابير للحد من انبعاثات الكربون، وعملت مع مختلف الشركاء الدوليين. وكما تنص رؤية البحرين 2030 على وضع لوائح جديدة للطاقة للحدّ من انبعاثات الكربون بما في ذلك المعايير الوطنية الجديدة للأبنية والإضاءة والأجهزة المنزلية لتحقيق الكفاءة في استخدام الطاقة. ولتحقيق هذه الأهداف، وقعت البحرين عام 2013 إتفاقاً مع البنك الدولي للعمل معاً على قضايا الكفاءة في استخدام الطاقة، فقد تم تشكيل فريق عمل مشترك لدراسة مختلف المجالات مثل كفاءة استخدام تكييف الهواء، واستخدام المياه والطاقة، فضلاً عن التلوث والتخلص من النفايات.
كما تعمل البحرين أيضاً مع برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي لتطوير المركز الوطني للتخطيط والحفاظ على الطاقة.. ومن المرجح أن يبدأ تشغيل هذا المركز في المستقبل القريب.

Home / Bahrain

Bahrain

oil-well-in-Bahrain
An oil well in Bahrain. Photo Ismail Al Mahari

Contents

Oil
Natural Gas
Electricity
Renewable Energy

Introduction

The Kingdom of Bahrain is the smallest country of the Gulf Cooperation Council  in terms of land area, and consists entirely of an archipelago. However, with more than 1,3 million citizens, it has a larger population than neighboring Qatar (which counts about 313,000 citizens). The main island is densely populated, mainly due to the location of the capital, Manama. Bahrain also has the smallest hydrocarbon resources in the Gulf region, but oil and gas nevertheless play an important, though diminishing, role in the Kingdom’s economy. Bahrain is the oldest oil producer in the Gulf region: it was the first Gulf state to discover crude oil and built its first well in 1932. The Bahrain Refinery was established in 1936. It exports most of its oil as refined petroleum products, rather than crude oil.

These exports make almost 60% of Bahrain’s exports and 70% of the government revenue. Bahrain has two main hydrocarbon intensive industries, namely aluminums smelting and refining. Nevertheless, the economy is one of the most diversified in the region.

Bahrain is not a member of OPEC , despite the fact that its revenues come mainly from refining. It is a medium-sized natural gas producer and the country is self-sufficient in gas to generate its electrical power needs. Per capita energy consumption is very high, at about 800 million Btu (British thermal unit) annually. This reflect the country’s huge energy needs for air conditioning, oil refining, desalination and aluminum smelting.

Map 1. Bahrain and its neighbours. ©Fanack

Oil

As of 2015, Bahrain’s proven oil reserves stood at least at 100m barrels, all of which are located in the onshore Awali field. However, according to Trade Arabia Journal , this figure could be much higher. In addition to the 50,581 barrels per day (bbl/d) produced in Bahraini territory in 2015, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia share the 300,000 bbl/d of oil production from the offshore Abu Safah field. This figure is counted in Saudi oil production figures, but half of the output is allocated to Bahrain. According to the Bahraini National Oil & Gas Authority, in 2015 Bahrain obtained 150,942 bbl/d from Abu Safah field. The Tatweer Petroleum Company of Bahrain is the operating company – it is owned by NOGA, Occidental Petroleum, and the Mubadala Development Company of the Emirate of Abu Dhabi. Tatweer is drilling new wells and has been attempting to steam injection in an effort to increase production. In 2014, it invested $3.5 billion to boost the country’s field prowess. The aim is to increase production to 100,000 bbl/d in the next three to four years, by 2020.

Bahrain’s refinery has a nameplate capacity of 262,000 bbl/d of crude oil throughput, though the refinery has at times been operated at beyond normal capacity; it reached as much as 276,676 bbl/d in 2015. The Bahrain Petroleum Company, which is fully owned by the government, owns and runs the refinery. In total, Bahrain’s refinery production in 2015 was 98.117 million barrels, of which 10.480 million barrels were locally consumed and 87.637 million barrels exported. According to Alarabiya News, Bapco is planning to invest $6 billion to increase the crude refining capacity to 360,000 bbl/d by 2018 and lay new pipes for the oil from Saudi Arabia that provides the feedstock beyond Bahrain’s domestic supply.

Map 2. Bahrain's onshore Awali oil field and the offshore Abu Safah oil field, shared by Saudi Arabia and Bahrain. Click to enlarge. ©Fanack

In 2015, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia signed an agreement to share a new oil pipeline project. The Saudi Al Rabi company won the contract to build while the Emirati National Petroleum Construction Company will manage the undersea part of the project. As of 2016, these plans were in the financial closing phase.

Natural Gas

According to the World Data Atlas, Bahrain’s proven dry natural gas reserves are assessed in 2015 at 3.30 trillion cubic feet, the smallest reserves of any of the littoral states in the Persian Gulf. Most of these reserves are associated with Bahrain’s oil field. Nevertheless, the reserves have been sufficient to provide for the Kingdom’s consumption for many years. The Bahrain National Gas Company was established in 1979 to capture associated natural gas at the Awali oilfield, which had previously been flared. Bahrain formed Banagas to process associated gas into marketable products and supply residual gas for local industrial use. Banagas is three-quarters state-owned, with the remainder owned by the Arab Petroleum Investment Corporation (APIC) and Caltex Bahrain (Chevron) at 12.5% each.

In 2015, Bahrain produced about 751,615 million Cubic feet of gas, an amount that does not meet the country’s demands.

Figure 1. Bahrain's gas production compared to its final consumption. Click to enlarge. ©Fanack

Already in 2013, Bahrain’s natural annual gas consumption was at 15,7 billion cubic meters. This growing gap has forced the Bahraini government to take various measures. The country has already raised the domestic price for 2012 by 50% to $2.25 per million Btu, in order to slow demand growth. In order to generate new resources from the Awali field, the kingdom has also issued various exploring tenders and worked on attracting investments in liquefied natural gas (LNG). In 2012, Bahrain decided to construct an LNG import facility to supplement natural gas supply. In 2015, it signed an agreement on a LNG Terminal Construction and Operation Project with a consortium composed of the Canadian company Teekya LNG Partners (Teekay LNG), the Korean company Samasung C&T and of the Kuwait-based Gulf Investment Corporation (GIC). In 2016, the project received a loan of $741 million to be implemented. This project is going to be built on a floating gas terminal off the northeast coast of Bahrain as a limited liability company, and is being mainly developed to meet local needs for energy production in peak periods. In addition, Russian Gasprom is investing in an LNG plant in Bahrain aiming at turning the island into an LNG hub to supply the region with gas. The terminal is being currently constructed at the cost of $600 million and is planned to be commissioned in 2018.

In 2016, the Bahraini company Tatweer Petroleum signed a US$ 100 million contract with the British company Petrofac to construct a gas dehydration facility with a capacity of 500 mio standard cubic feet per day. This facility is expected to meet the growing demand for gas in Bahrain. In addition, Banagas is also planning to develop an associated gas plant. It has published tenders for engineering, procurement, construction and commissioning of the project to 3 international companies. Furthermore, Bahrain’s NOGA has issued tender to explore deep gas.

Electricity

Bahrain has generation capacity of 3,150 megawatts (MW). That is virtually all from thermal, oil or gas-fired power plants. 83% of its energy comes from natural gas and 17% from oil. There are five power plants in Bahrain, with two of the largest being public-private partnerships (PPPs), namely, Al Ezzel IPP (independent power producer), which has a capacity of 946 MW, and the Al Hidd IWPP (integrated water and power plant), which contributes around 1,006 MW to the grid. The transmission and distribution system comprises of 11 (33 kV) substations, 93 (66 kV) substations and 15 (220 kV) substations.

Under the GCC’s grid interconnection program, Bahrain is already connected to Saudi Arabia, Qatar, and Kuwait, and is able to receive as much as 600 MW of additional power capacity. The sector’s generation, transmission, and distribution is managed by the governmental agency Electricity & Water Authority (EWA).

Electricity in Bahrain is heavily subsidised. Already in 2013, it cost the state about $935 million. Electricity demand was 13.76 billion kilowatt/hours in 2010. A demand growth of 7% per year is expected through 2020. According to the World Bank, energy demand in Bahrain will reach 19,704 GwH. This soaring growth is driven by national housing programmes, rapid population growth and the growing demand for the industrial sector, especially in aluminum smelters.

In 2013, Bahrain was confronted with serious challenges of power outages. It managed to reduce the threat by more than 27% in 2013 but the country had to work on its energy infrastructure by improving reliance and consumptions culture. To achieve this goal, both energy efficiency and energy mix were boosted by increasing the share of renewable energy.

Figure 2. Bahrain's electricity generation compared to its final consumption. Click to enlarge. ©Fanack
Table 1. Bahrain's energy indicators. Click to enlarge. ©Fanack

To fully solve this issue, EWA started in 2015 to work on a vast upgrade of the 220-KV electrical transmission network, as well as an expansion of power generation capacity. While most of the new megawatts will come from the Al Dur phase two expansion, the EWA is also developing smaller-scale solar and waste-driven power generation plants to diversify the country’s energy mix. Al Dur phase two will add 1200-1500 MW. In addition, three new power plants in Al Hadd, Umm Al Hassam and Al Rafah will be developed between 2016 and 2019.

Furthermore, EWA is rolling out a smart metering project with remote reading systems aiming at improving the timely reading of power consumption and boost energy efficiency.

Renewable Energy

There are currently only three wind turbines installed at the Bahrain World Trade Centre, as a symbol. However, in 2010, the Bahrain has set a target to create a minimum of 5% of its total electricity generation from renewable energy sources by 2030. EWA is planning to contract a 3-5 MW project combining solar and wind power. In addition, a 5 MW solar project is being developed at the University of Bahrain. The project will cost $30 million and is a joint venture between NOGA, the Bahrain Petroleum Company and few other American companies such as Caspian Energy Holdings and Petra Solar. However, current efforts are minor compared to the potential of Bahrain to generate 22 TWh per year from solar energy. In addition, Bahrain is working currently on the Askar Waste to Energy project, a plant which will incinerate solid waste to generate power.This plant will cost $480 million and will treat 390,000 tonnes of solid waste, generating 25 MW.

In 2008, Bahrain adopted the Economic Vision 2030. This policy document foresees the development of new energy regulations to reduce carbon emissions. Being part of the Small Island Nations Group in the international climate change negotiations, Bahrain took several measures reduce carbon emissions and worked with various international partners. Bahrain’s Economic Vision 2030 foresees the development of new energy regulations to reduce carbon emissions including new national standards for energy efficiency building, lightening and appliances. To achieve these objectives, Bahrain signed in 2013 an agreement with the World Bank to work jointly on energy efficiency issues. A joint working group was formed to study various areas such as efficient use of air conditioning, water and energy uses, as well as pollution and waste disposal.

Bahrain is also working with the UN Development Programme to develop a National Energy Conservation and Planning Center. This center is very likely to start operating in the near future.