الصفحة الرئيسية / الأردن

الأردن

jordan-energy
.الأردن Photo Geoff Livingston

المحتويات

النفط
الغاز الطبيعي
الكهرباء

المقدمة

تعتبر المملكة الأردنية الهاشمية واحدة من أكثر دول الشرق الأوسط فقراً في الموارد الهيدروكربونية، إذ لا يوجد إنتاجٌ كبير سواء للنفط أو الغاز الطبيعي. يعتمد الأردن بشكلٍ كبير على النفط والغاز المستورد لتوليد الطاقة، ويقوم حالياً بتنفيذ العديد من مشاريع الطاقة المتجددة.

ومع ذلك، يمتلك احتياطيات كبيرة من الصخر الزيتي، إلا أن جهود تطوير هذا المجال لم تتم بعد، حيث تبرز العديد من التحديات المرتبطة بتطويره. يرتكز الاقتصاد على توسيع صادرات قطاعات التصنيع والسياحة، على الرغم من أن جذب الاستثمارات في قطاع الطاقة ذات أهمية متزايدة. البطالة في الأردن شائعة، إلا أن البلاد حققت مستوىً مرتفع نسبياً من التنمية الاقتصادية. وفي مايو 2011، طلب الأردن الانضمام لعضوية مجلس التعاون الخليجي، .إذ لا يزال هذا الطلب قيد النظر حتى اليوم

الشكل رقم (1): خارطة الأردن. أنقر لتكبير. المصدر: جامعة تكساس. أنقر لتكبير. © Fanack

النفط

إنتاج النفط الخام لا يكاد يُذكر، كما أنّ احتياطيات النفط التقليدية ضئيلة- تُقدر بمليون برميل فقط. ونتيجةً لذلك، يستورد الأردن جميع احتياجاته من النفط تقريباً، بمعدل 2,5 مليون برميل شهرياً من المملكة العربية السعودية و15 ألف برميل في اليوم مدعومة من العراق. هذا بالإضافة إلى 30 ألف طن شهرياً من زيت الوقود الثقيل المدعوم أيضاً من العراق، لاستخدامها في محطات توليد الكهرباء. ومن المتوقع بحلول عام 2020، أن ينمو متوسط الطلب السنوي على الطاقة بنحو 5,5%. يتم حالياً تسليم واردات النفط الخام من العراق عن طريق الشاحنات، إلا أن الأردن شرع في مفاوضاتٍ مبدئية لبناء خط أنابيب للنفط الخام لنقل هذه الواردات بدلاً من ذلك. وفي عام 2013، وقع الأردن والعراق اتفاقاً لبناء خط أنابيب من حقول البصرة في العراق إلى ميناء العقبة الأردني، إلا أنه تم تأجيل المشروع بسبب المخاوف الأمنية في العراق.

تشغّل شركة مصفاة البترول الأردنية المصفاة الوحيدة في المملكة والواقعة في مدينة الزرقاء، إذ تبلغ قدرتها الإنتاجية 65 ألف برميل في اليوم. وإلى

جانب العراق، تأتي واردات النفط الخام والمنتجات أيضاً من المملكة العربية السعودية، والكويت، والإمارات العربية المتحدة. وبسبب حالة عدم الاستقرار في المنطقة بشكلٍ عام، وعلى رأسها الحروب في كلٍ من سوريا والعراق، أصبح من الصعب على الأردن جذب المستثمرين الأجانب لتطوير مصفاته.

يكمن جانبٌ آخر من الإمكانات الكبيرة في الصخر الزيتي. تُقدر سلطة المصادر الطبيعية في الأردن أن احتياطيات الصخر الزيتي تصل إلى أكثر من 500 مليار برميل بما يُعادل كميات النفط الخام. تتضمن ودائع الصخر الزيتي المهمة موقع عطارات أم الغدران، وجرف الدراويش، ووادي المغار؛ وودائع أصغر حجماً في اللجون والسلطاني. يمتاز الصخر الزيتي في الأردن بنسبة عالية من الكبريت (8-10%)، مما يستلزم نفقاتٍ إضافية لاستخراج النفط القابل للاستخدام. كما يمكن حرق الصخر الزيتي مباشرةً لتوليد الكهرباء أو معالجته لتحويله إلى نفط خام اصطناعي للتكرير. تتضمن بعض الاستثمارات المهمة في هذا القطاع ما يلي:

تعتزم شركة انيفيت (وهي جزء من الشركة الوطنية الاستونية للطاقة) استثمار 1,8 مليار دولار في موقع عطارات أم الغدران، بهدف إنتاج 40 ألف برميل في اليوم من الصخر الزيتي من الوديعة بنهاية عام 2018.
تعتزم شركة الأردن للصخر الزيتي (جزء من رويال داتش شل) الاستثمار بما يصل قيمته 500 مليون دولار في امتياز يغطي مساحة 22 ألف كيلومتر مربع في حوضيّ الأزرق والجفر. الهدف هو تقييم الجدوى (الاقتصادية والجيولوجية) لإنتاج شامل نسبياً، حيث لن يبدأ الإنتاج التجاري الفعلي إلا بعد عام 2020.
تمتلك شركة الكرك الدولية للبترول (إحدى الشركات التابعة للشركة الأردنية البريطانية للطاقة والتعدين) امتياز استغلال الصخر الزيتي بمساحة 35 كيلومتر مربع في موقع اللجون. وتتوقع الشركة أن تنتج 360 برميل من الصخر الزيتي في اليوم بحلول وقتٍ ما عام 2016، مع إمكانية الوصول إلى 60 ألف طن سنوياً باستثماراتٍ إضافية.

هناك على الأقل خمسة استثمارات أخرى أصغر حجماً. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يتم تطوير عدد من المبادرات مع شركات صينية وأستونية لبناء محطات لتوليد الطاقة باستخدام الصخر الزيتي. وعموماً، تأمل الحكومة الأردنية بتأمين 14% من احتياجاتها من الطاقة من الودائع المحلية لموارد الصخر الزيتي بحلول عام 2020. ومع ذلك، تكلّف العمليات المختلفة لاستخراج النفط الصخري من الصخر الزيتي، والتي تنطوي جميعها على تسخين الصخر الزيتي لاستخراج الأبخرة الهيدروكربونية، ما يصل إلى 50 دولار للبرميل الواحد، أي أكثر تكلفة بكثير من إنتاج الاحتياطيات التقليدية، وبخاصة بالمقارنة مع تكلفة البرميل الواحد التي يتمتع بها الأردن من جيرانه مثل العراق والسعودية. ومع ذلك، بالنظر إلى أن أسعار النفط الخام اليوم حوالي الـ50 دولاراً، أي أقل من 65 دولاراً بكثير (السعر التقريبي لضمان الربحية)، والتي من المتوقع أن تبقى دون هذا المستوى في السنوات القليلة المقبلة، فإن الشركات الأجنبية حالياً أقل ميلاً للاستثمار في قطاع الصخر الزيتي في الأردن.

الغاز الطبيعي

كان الأردن يستهلك كمياتٍ محدودة من الغاز الطبيعي إلى أن تم افتتاح القسم الأول من خط الغاز العربي الممتد من العريش في مصر إلى العقبة في الأردن عام 2003، والذي مكّن مصر من تصدير الغاز إلى الأردن. يستورد الأردن حوالي 6,8 مليون متر مكعب من الغاز يومياً من مصر، وهو ما يمثل حوالي 83% من استهلاك أكثر من 3 مليار متر مكعب سنوياً بقليل. تستخدم هذه الواردات المهمة في محطات توليد الكهرباء التي تعمل بالغاز، والتي بدورها توفر ما نسبته 80% من الكهرباء في البلاد. تقوم الحكومة بإعداد خطة رئيسية للغاز لتحسين إدماج هذه الطاقة الهامة في اقتصاد البلاد في المستقبل.

إن احتياطيات الغاز الطبيعي في الأردن أوفر من احتياطيات النفط التقليدي، حيث تُقدر بنحو 6 مليار متر مكعب، وفقاً لمجلة النفط والغاز. تأتي غالبية هذه الاحتياطيات من حقل الريشة، الممتد بجانب الحدود الأردنية العراقية. ومع ذلك، انخفض انتاج حقل الريشة إلى 566 ألف متر مكعب في اليوم، من أعلى إنتاجٍ بلغ 1,076 مليون متر مكعب يومياً عام 2003. ولا يزال يتوفر في الحقل احتياطيات كبيرة، ويحتاج إلى استثمارات جديدة. فقد تم استكشاف 1,500 كيلومتر مكعب فحسب بالكامل من ما مجموعه 7,000 كيلومتر مكعب. وفي أكتوبر 2009، وقعت شركة بريتيش بتروليوم (BP) اتفاقية مع شركة البترول الوطنية الأردنية لإنفاق 237 مليون دولار على عمليات الاستكشاف والتقييم على مدى فترة تمتد لثلاث سنوات. تم حفر الآبار الاستكشافية الأولى عام 2011. ومع المعلومات التي تم جمعها في نهاية الفترة، أرادت شركة بريتيش بتروليوم (BP) التشاور مع شركة البترول الوطنية. ومع ذلك، منذ التوقيع على الاتفاقية مع شركة بريتيش بتروليوم (BP)، توصل الأردن أيضاً إلى اتفاقٍ مع العراق لتطوير حقل الريشة. وبالتالي، بعد إنتهاء شركة بريتيش بتروليوم من المرحلة الأولى، من المتوقع أن يتشاور الأردن والعراق مع شركة النفط الرائدة قبل أن يتمكنا من المضي قدماً بالخطط الاستثمارية التي تتراوح قيمتها ما بين 8-10 مليار دولار، والتي من شأنها أن تنتج، بشكلٍ مباشر، ما لا يقل عن 8,5 مليون متر مكعب في اليوم، إذا ما سارت الأمور وفق الخطة.

إن المباشرة بإنتاج حقل الريشة من شأنه أيضاً أن يحل مشكلة عانت منها إمدادات الغاز المستورد إلى الأردن، وهي بشكلٍ أساسي الهجمات المتكررة التي تعرض لها خط الأنابيب على الجانب المصري، مما تسبب بإغلاقه بشكلٍ مؤقت. إن حقيقة أن الجزء المصري يُغذي أيضاً خط أنابيب العريش- عسقلان، الذي يصل إلى اسرائيل، وتأثر الأمن في مصر بعد ثورة عام 2011، جعل من خط الأنابيب هدفاً، بشكلٍ خاص، من قِبل المتشددين الذين هاجموه ست مراتٍ في عام 2011 وحده. هذا الانقطاع في الإمدادات له العديد من الآثار الاقتصادية الكلية، إذ تضطر محطات الطاقة إلى التحول لاستخدام الوقود الثقيل والديزل الأكثر تكلفة لإنتاج الطاقة. ونتيجة لذلك، اضطر الأردن إلى زيادة الدعم على المنتجات النفطية. بديلٌ آخر محتمل أو إضافة لخط الغاز المصري، بناء منشآة لإعادة تحويل الغاز واستيراد الغاز الطبيعي المسال في العقبة. لا تزال هذه الاحتمالية قيد البحث من قبل وزارة الطاقة والموارد الطبيعية.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، وقع الأردن في سبتمبر 2015 مذكرة تفاهم مع شركة نوبل انرجي الاميركية، التي تعمل على تطوير حقل ليفياثان للغاز في اسرائيل. ومن المقرر أن يتم تنفيذ هذا الاتفاق في عام 2017، إلا أنه قد يواجه بعض التأخير بسبب التحديات التنظيمية في اسرائيل. ومع ذلك، في حال المضي قُدماً، سيؤمن 30% من الطلب على الكهرباء في الأردن.

الشكل رقم (2): واردات الغاز الطبيعي في الأردن (مليار متر مكعب/ السنة). المصدر: إدارة معلومات الطاقة الأمريكية. أنقر لتكبير. © Fanack

الكهرباء

تبلغ القدرة الفعلية لتوليد الكهرباء في الأردن 3,050 ميجاواط، المنتجة بشكلٍ أساسي من حرق النفط والغاز الطبيعي المستورد. يبلغ استهلاك الكهرباء حوالي 2,800 مجياواط. ومن المتوقع أن يصل معدل النمو السنوي للكهرباء إلى نحو 7,4% بحلول عام 2020. ورداً على الطلب المتزايد، زاد الأردن التعرفة بنسبة 20% لجميع فئات المستهلكين.

ترتبط الشبكة الكهربائية في الأردن بالشبكات الكهربائية في كلٍ من مصر، والعراق، وليبيا، ولبنان، وفلسطين، وسوريا، وتركيا، كجزء من مشاريع الربط الكهربائي للدول الثمانية. الهدف من المشاريع هو تقاسم الطاقة عبر الشبكات المترابطة، وبالتالي، تأجيل أو تجنب تماماً، بناء محطات جديدة لتوليد الكهرباء.

إن الاعتماد الكبير على النفط والغاز الطبيعي المستورد، إلى جانب الأضرار البيئية، شجع الأردن على تحرير قطاع الطاقة لديه، واعتماد تدابير لزيادة كفاءة الطاقة، وتعزيز استخدام الطاقة المتجددة.

الشكل رقم (3): مؤشرات الطاقة في الأردن. المصدر: الوكالة الدولية للطاقة، 2014. أنقر لتكبير. © Fanack

قطاع الطاقة منظم على النحو التالي: يأتي التوليد من أربعة مصادر، شركة توليد الكهرباء المركزية (CEGCO) المملوكة جزئياً للحكومة؛ ومنتجي الطاقة المستقلين (IPPs)؛ وعدد قليل من الصناعات الكبيرة القادرة على توليد الطاقة الخاصة بها؛ وواردات الطاقة. تغذي هذه المصادر الأربعة شبكة نقلٍ واحدة، شبكة الكهرباء الوطنية (NEPCO) المملوكة للدولة. ومن شركة الكهرباء الوطنية، توزع ثلاث شركات توزيع هي، شركة الكهرباء الأردنية المساهمة العامة المحدودة  (JEPCO)، وشركة كهرباء محافظة اربد (IDCO)، وشركة توزيع الكهرباء المساهمة العامة (EDCO)، الكهرباء للمستهلكين، باستثناء عدد قليل من المستهلكين الصناعيين الكبار الذين يتعاملون مع شبكة الكهرباء الوطنية بشكلٍ مباشر.

تبلغ قدرة التوليد التقليدية لشركة توليد الكهرباء المركزية (CEGCO) 1,706 ميجاواط من عشر محطات لتوليد الطاقة، بالإضافة إلى كمية صغيرة ولكن متزايدة نسبياً من الطاقة المتجددة (2%). تم تحويل العديد من المحطات من زيت الوقود الثقيل إلى الغاز الطبيعي، مما كان له آثار بيئية إيجابية، إذ تم تحديث نظام التحكم للدورة المركبة في محطة توليد رحاب (كما تم تحديث عدة محطات مستقلة لإنتاج الطاقة للعمل باستخدام الدورة المركبة). وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، يمتلك الأردن أحد أفضل الإمكانات للحصول على الطاقة المتجددة، إذ يبلغ متوسط أشعة الشمس ما بين 5-7 كيلوواط ساعي/ متر مكعب في اليوم، وسرعة الرياح 7-11 متر/ الثانية. ومع ذلك، لم يتم حتى الآن سوى تطوير عدد محدود من المشاريع. ويعزى هذا بشكلٍ عام إلى التحديات التنظيمية، وأسعار الطاقة، وصعوبات جذب الاستثمارات الأجنبية. ومع ذلك، تُبشّر المشاركة القوية لمؤسسة التمويل الدولية (IFC) التابعة للبنك الدولي والعديد من المنظمات الدولية الأخرى، جنباً إلى جنب مع التزام الحكومة الأردنية، بنتائج أفضل.

تشغل شركة توليد الكهرباء المركزية توربينات رياح في ﻣﺤﻄﺘﻲ ﺗﻮﻟﻴﺪ ﻛﻬﺮﺑﺎء ﺣﻮﻓﺎ والإبراهيمية، والتي تولد حوالي 2,9 جيجاواط ساعي/ سنوياً، ومحطة لإنتاج الغاز الحيوي بقدرة 2,5 ميجاواط (بالتعاون مع أمانة عمّان الكبرى). كما ينظر الأردن بعطاءاتٍ لبناء محطة لتوليد الكهرباء من طاقة الرياح في منطقة الفجيج في جنوب البلاد. وسيتم تركيب ألواح شمسية في بانوراما البحر الميت لتوفير 876,500 كيلوواط/الساعة بحلول شهر اكتوبر. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن 13% تقريباً من المنازل في الأردن مزودة بألواح شمسية. وبحلول عام 2015، تم الانتهاء من المنشآت الضوئية الكهربائية على أسطح المنازل الفردية بقدرة بلغت 69 ميغاواط.
وكجزء من استراتيجية الطاقة للفترة ما بين عامي 2007-2020، يهدف الأردن بأن تكون 10% من طاقته من مزيج الطاقة التي تنتجها مصادر الطاقة المتجددة (1,200 ميجاواط من الرياح، و600 ميجاواط من الطاقة الشمسية، و20-30 ميجاواط من تحويل النفايات إلى طاقة) بحلول عام 2020. وحتى الآن، تم ترشيح 34 مقترحاً لمشاريع بسعة إجمالية قدرها 1000 ميجاواط.

وكان وزير الطاقة، خالد طوقان، قد أعلن في أواخر سبتمبر 2011، أن من المقرر أن يبدأ تشغيل أول مفاعل نووي في المملكة في عام 2019. وستضيف هذه المحطة 1000 ميجاواط إضافية لقدرة توليد الكهرباء في البلاد. تقوم هيئة الطاقة الذرية الأردنية (JAEC) حالياً بمراجعة العروض المالية من قائمة الموردين المرشحين لبناء مفاعل من الجيل الثالث في منطقة المجدل، التي تبعد نحو 40 كيلومتر شمال شرق عمان. العروض مقدمة من شركة الطاقة الذرية الكندية المحدودة (AECL)، والشركة الروسية Atomstroy Export، بالإضافة إلى اتحاد شركتي آريفا الفرنسية وميتسوبيشي للصناعات الثقيلة اليابانية.

Home / Jordan

Jordan

jordan-energy
Jordan. Photo Geoff Livingston

Contents

Oil
Natural gas
Electricity

Introduction

The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan is one of the most hydrocarbon-poor countries in the Middle East, with neither significant production of oil or natural gas. It relies heavily on imported oil and gas for power generation, and is currently implementing various renewable energy projects. It does, however, have large reserves of oil shale, but these have yet to be developed and there are several challenges associated with their development.

The economy is focused on expanding the export manufacturing sectors and tourism, although attracting investment in the energy sector is increasingly important. Unemployment is widespread, but the country has achieved a fairly high level of economic development. In May 2011, Jordan requested membership in the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC). Its application is currently under consideration.

Figure 1. Map of Jordan. Click to enlarge. ©Fanack

Oil

Production of crude oil is negligible, and conventional oil reserves are insignificant – estimated at just 1 million barrels. Consequently, Jordan imports nearly all of its oil, at an average of 2.5 million barrels a month from Saudi Arabia and 15,000 subsidized barrels a day (bbl/d) from Iraq. This is in addition to 30 tons per month of subsidized heavy fuel oil, also from Iraq, for use in power plants. It is expected that by 2020, the average annual energy demand will grow by about 5.5 per cent. Crude oil imports from Iraq are currently delivered by truck, but Jordan has initiated discussions regarding the construction of a crude oil pipeline to carry these imports instead. In 2013, Jordan and Iraq signed an agreement to construct an oil pipeline from Iraq’s Basra fields to the Jordanian port of Aqaba. However, this project has been delayed due to security concerns in Iraq.

The Jordan Petroleum Refinery Company operates the kingdom’s sole refinery at Zarqa. It has a throughput capacity of 65,000bbl/d. Besides Iraq, crude oil and product imports are sourced from Saudi Arabia, Kuwait and the United Arab Emirates. The general instability in the region, mainly the wars in Iraq and Syria, have made it difficult for Jordan to attract foreign investors to upgrade its refinery.

Another area of substantial potential is shale oil. Jordan’s Natural Resources Authority (NRA) estimates that shale oil reserves amount to over 500 billion barrels of crude oil-equivalent volumes. Important oil shale deposits include the large Attarat Um Ghudran, Jurf Ed Darawish and Wadi Maghar; and the smaller al-Lajjun and Sultani deposits. Jordan’s oil shale is noteworthy for being very high in sulphur (8-10 per cent), which will incur additional expense to extract usable oil. Shale oil can be burned directly to generate electricity or further processed into synthetic crude oil for refining. Some important investments in the sector include:

  • Enefit (part of Eesti Energia of Estonia) plans to invest $1.8 billion in Attarat Um Ghudran, with the aim of producing 40,000bbl/d of shale oil from the deposit by the end of 2018.

  • Jordan Oil Shale (part of Royal Dutch Shell) plans to invest as much as $500 million in a concession covering 22,000km2 in the Azraq and al-Jafr blocks. The aim is to evaluate the viability (economic and geological) of fairly large-scale production, with actual commercial production not to commence until after 2020.

  • Karak International Oil (a subsidiary of the British Jordan Energy and Mining Ltd) has a 35km2 concession in al-Lajjun. The company expects to produce 360 barrels of shale oil per day by sometime in 2016, with the possibility of reaching 60,000 tons per year with additional investment.


There are at least five other smaller investments. In addition, a number of initiatives are being developed with Chinese and Estonian companies to construct power plants that utilize oil shale. Overall, the Jordanian government hopes to get 14 per cent of its energy from indigenous deposits of oil shale resources by 2020. However, the various processes for extracting shale oil from oil shale, all of which involve heating the oil shale to extract hydrocarbon vapours, cost as much as $50 per barrel, significantly more expensive than producing conventional reserves, particularly compared to the low per-barrel costs enjoyed by Jordan’s neighbours such as Iraq and Saudi Arabia. However, given that today’s crude oil prices are around $50, well below $65 (the approximate price to ensure profitability), and expected to stay below this level in the coming few years, foreign companies are currently less inclined to invest in the shale oil sector in Jordan.

Natural Gas

Jordan consumed only limited amounts of natural gas until the inauguration of the Arish-Aqaba section of the Arab Gas Pipeline in 2003, which enabled Egypt to export gas to Jordan. Jordan imports about 6.8 million cubic metres per day (MCM/d) from Egypt, which represents about 83 per cent of consumption of slightly more than 3 billion cubic metres per year (BCM/yr). These vital imports are used for gas-fired electricity generation plants which, in turn, provide 80 per cent of the country’s electricity. The government is preparing a gas masterplan to better incorporate this important energy source into the country’s economy in the future.

Jordan’s own natural gas reserves are more substantial than its conventional oil reserves, the former estimated at some 6BCM, according to Oil & Gas Journal. Most of that comes from the Risha field, which straddles Jordan’s border with Iraq. Risha’s output has declined to 566 thousand cubic metres per day, from a peak of 1,076MCM/d in 2003. The field still has substantial reserves, and needs new investment. Only 1,500km2 of a total of 7,000km2 have been fully explored. In October 2009, BP concluded an agreement with Jordan’s National Petroleum Company to spend $237 million on exploration and appraisal over a three-year period. The first exploratory wells were drilled in 2011. With the information gathered at the end of the period, BP intended to confer with the National Petroleum Company. However, since the signing of the agreement with BP, Jordan has also reached an agreement with Iraq to develop the Risha field. Thus, after BP finishes the initial phase, Jordan and Iraq are expected to consult the oil major before it is able to proceed to a planned $8-10 billion investment that would bring online at least 8.5MCM/d of production, if all goes to plan.

Bringing Risha online would also resolve a problem that has plagued Jordan’s imported gas supply, namely the continuing attacks on the Egyptian section of the pipeline that temporarily shut off supply. The fact that the Egyptian section also feeds into the Arish-Ashkelon Pipeline, which goes to Israel, and that security in Egypt has been affected by the 2011 revolution, have made the pipeline a particular target for militants, who attacked it six times in 2011 alone. This interruption of supply has many macroeconomic implications, since power plants have to switch to the more expensive heavy fuel oil and diesel for power production. As a result, Jordan has had to increase its subsidy for oil products. Another possible alternative or addition to the Egyptian supply would be the construction of a liquefied natural gas (LNG) import and regasification facility at Aqaba. This possibility is still being explored by the Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources.

Figure 2. Jordan’s natural gas imports (BCM/yr). Source: US Energy Information Administration. Click to enlarge. ©Fanack


In addition, in September 2015 Jordan signed a memorandum of understanding with the US-based Nobel Energy, which is developing the Leviathan gas field in Israel. This agreement is planned to be implemented in 2017, but might experience some delays due to regulatory challenges in Israel. If it goes ahead, however, it will secure 30 per cent of Jordan’s electricity demand.

Electricity

Jordan’s actual electricity generation capacity is 3,050 megawatts (MW), mainly produced by burning imported oil and natural gas. Electricity consumption is about 2,800MW. It is expected that the annual growth rate for electricity will reach about 7.4 per cent by the year 2020. In response to the soaring demand, Jordan has increased the tariff by 20 per cent for all consumer categories.

Jordan’s electrical grid is linked to the grids of Egypt, Iraq, Libya, Lebanon, Palestine, Syria and Turkey as part of the Eight Countries Interconnection Projects. The aim of the projects is to share power across interconnected grids, thereby deferring, or avoiding altogether, the construction of new power plants.

The heavy reliance on imported oil and natural gas, combined with environmental damage, has encouraged Jordan to liberalize its energy sector, adopt energy-efficiency measures and boost the use of renewable energy.

Figure 3. Jordan energy indicators. Source: International Energy Agency (IEA), 2014. Click to enlarge. ©Fanack

The electricity sector is structured as follows: generation comes from four sources, the partially state-owned Central Electricity Generating Company (CEGCO); independent power producers (IPPs); a few large industries with their own generation capacity; and power imports. These four feed into one transmission grid, the state-owned National Electric Power Company (NEPCO). From NEPCO, three distribution companies, Jordan Electric Power Company (JEPCO), Irbid District Electricity Company (IDCO) and Electricity Distribution Company (EDCO), distribute to consumers, with the exception of a few large industrial consumers who deal directly with NEPCO.

CEGCO’s conventional generating capacity is 1,706MW from ten power plants, plus a relatively small but growing amount of renewable power (2 per cent). Many plants were converted from heavy fuel oil to natural gas, which has had positive environmental effects, as has the conversion of the Rehab station to combined cycle (several IPP plants are also combined cycle). Jordan has one of the best potentials for renewable energy. It has an average solar radiation of 5-7kWh/m2 per day and wind speeds of 7-11m/s. Nevertheless, so far only a limited number of projects have been developed. This is generally attributed to regulatory challenges, energy prices and the difficulties of attracting foreign investments. However, the strong involvement of the International Finance Cooperation (IFC) of the World Bank and many other international organizations, combined with the commitment of the Jordanian government, promise better results.

CEGCO operates wind turbines at its Hofa and Ibrahimiya plants, which generate about 2.9 gigawatt-hours per year (GWh/yr), and a 2.5 MW biogas facility (along with Amman municipality). Jordan is also considering bids to build a 90MW wind farm (Fujeij) in the south. Solar panels are to be installed on the Dead Sea Panorama Complex, to supply 876,500kW/hr by October. Approximately 13 per cent of Jordanian homes are equipped with solar panels. By 2015, 69MW of photovoltaic installations on individual rooftops had been finalized.

As part of its Energy Strategy 2007-2020, Jordan aims to have 10 per cent of its energy mix produced by renewables (1,200MW wind, 600MW solar and 20-30MW waste to energy) by 2020. So far, 34 proposals have been shortlisted for projects with a total capacity of 1,000MW.

Energy Minister Khaled Toukan announced in late September 2011 that the kingdom’s first nuclear reactor is scheduled to be operational in 2019. The facility is to add an additional 1,000MW to the country’s electricity generation capacity. The Jordan Atomic Energy Commission (JAEC) is currently reviewing financial bids from shortlisted vendors for the construction of a Generation III reactor in Majdal, some 40 kilometres northeast of Amman. The bidders are the Canadian AECL, Russian Atomstroy Export and a French-Japanese joint venture comprising Areva and Mitsubishi Heavy Industries.