الصفحة الرئيسية / تركيا

تركيا

تركيا الطاقة ناقلة نفط البوسفور
ناقلة نفط تمر عبر مضيق البوسفور في تركيا. Photo Alexxx Malev/Flickr

المحتويات

النفط والغاز: موارد محدودة
النفط والغاز: تزايد الطلب
إمكانيات نقل الغاز والنفط: “الممر الجنوبي”
الكهرباء

المقدمة

للمصادر الرئيسية الثلاث للوقود الأحفوري [1]. كما تتمتع البلاد أيضاً بأهمية جيواستراتيجية غاية في الأهمية. ينبع هذا إلى حدٍ كبير من (1) موقعها الجغرافي، و (2) قدرتها العسكرية. وتعود عضوية تركيا في حلف الأطلسي إلى الحرب الباردة وتمتلك البلاد اليوم ثاني أكبر جيش في الكتلة الأمنية. وجعل قرب تركيا من الاتحاد السوفياتي السابق أحد الدول المهمة التي يتم إدراجها في حلف شمال الأطلسي. وفيما يتعلق بالطاقة، تعتبر الجغرافيا أحد الأمور الأساسية حيث تُسيطر تركيا على مضيقي البوسفور والدردنيل، وهي مضائق تركية تربط بين البحر الأحمر والبحر الأبيض المتوسط، حيث تم من خلالهما عبور ما معدله 3 ملايين برميل من النفط في اليوم عام 2013، وبالتالي يعني هذا سيطرة تركيا على المضيق الذي يقع على أحد طرق التصدير البحرية الثلاث للنفط الخام في روسيا.
وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن حقيقة مشاركة تركيا حدودها البرية مع العراق وإيران وسوريا وأرمينيا وجورجيا إلى الشرق، وبلغاريا واليونان من الغرب تعني أن البلاد تعمل بشكلٍ فريد على ربط مراكز الموارد في الشرق الأوسط بأسواق الطاقة في أوروبا.

الخريطة رقم (1): تركيا وجيرانها. المصدر: Fanack after CIA World Factbook. ©Fanack

إن إمكانية توفير تركيا في نهاية المطاف نظام خط أنابيب للتصدير بديل لخطوط أنابيب نقل الغاز الروسي يعتمد بشكل كبير على مسرح الطاقة العالمي. يضمن هذا الاحتمال المكانة البارزة لتركيا في مجالات العرض والطلب وعبور الشحنات.

النفط والغاز: موارد محدودة

قد لا تعتبر تركيا مركز إمداد هام ولكنها بالتأكيد مركز طلب هام للنفط والغاز في منطقة الشرق الأوسط، مما يجعلها وجهة لصادرات النفط من اللاعبين الإقليميين الرئيسيين في إيران والعراق والمملكة العربية السعودية وكذلك اللاعبين من خارج المنطقة مثل روسيا وكازخستان وإفريقيا. وعلاوة على ذلك، تعتبر تركيا طريق نقل إلزامي، حيث يتم عبور كمية أكبر من النفط مما يتم استهلاكه. تمتلك تركيا احتياطات نفط تقليدية [2] مؤكدة تصل إلى 295 مليون برميل (أو نحو 4,5 يوم من قيمة الإنتاج العالمي للنفط). تقع معظمها في محافظات باتمان وأديامان في الجنوب الشرقي (حيث يحدث معظم إنتاج النفط التركي)، بالإضافة إلى ودائع إضافية يتم العثور عليها في تراقيا في الشمال الغربي. ووصل إنتاج النفط في تركيا عام 1991 إلى 85,000 برميل في اليوم، إلا أنه انخفض خلال السنوات الثلاث عشرة التالية ليصل إلى 43,000 برميل في اليوم قبل أن تشهد انتعاشاً متواضعاً في أوائل عام 2004. وعلى الرغم من أن انتاج تركيا من الوقود السائل قد ازداد قليلاً عام 2004، إلا أنه أقل بكثير من الاحتياجات السنوية للبلاد، حيث وصل الإنتاج عام 2012 (حوالي 60,000 برميل في اليوم) مما يغطي حوالي 10% من الاستهلاك الوطني.

الشكل 1: إنتاج النفط منذ عام 1980. أنقر للتكبير. ©Fanack

تصل احتياطيات الغاز المؤكدة في تركيا إلى 6,17 مليار متر مكعب. وتنتج البلاد كمية صغيرة جداً من الغاز الطبيعي مع إجمالي إنتاج يبلغ 22 مليار قدم مكعب عام 2012 مما يشكّل أقل من 2% من الاستهلاك. شركة النفط التركية (TPAO) وبي بي، ورويال دتش شل، مسؤولون عن معظم إنتاج الغاز الطبيعي في البلاد. وفي السنوات الأخيرة، تم اكتشاف عدد من حقول الغاز الطبيعي في البحر الأسود، بما في ذلك حقل أيازلي، وأيازلي الشرقي، وأكايا، واكشاكوجا. وعلى الرغم من محدودية الاحتياطيات المؤكدة، زادت جهود التنقيب عن الغاز وخاصة في البر. وتستعد شركة رويال دتش شل العملاقة لإنفاق 300 مليون دولار على برنامج التنقيب في البحر الأسود التركي، في حين أن شركات إكسون موبيل وشيفرون وبتروبراس لديها برامج تنقيب جارية هناك. وزاد أيضاً التنقيب عن احتياطيات الغاز غير التقليدية (الصخر الزيتي). على الرغم من الصراع الدائر من أجل الحكم الذاتي الكردي من قبل حزب العمال الكردستاني والآثار السلبية المحتملة للحرب في سوريا، وقعت شركة شل اتفاقاً مع شركة النفط التركية للتنقيب عن الغاز الصخري، حيث ستحصل الشركة التركية على حصة تبلغ 70% من الإنتاج في حين تحصل شل على 30% فقط.

النفط والغاز: تزايد الطلب

بعد إسرائيل، تعتبر تركيا الدولة الوحيدة العضو في منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية (OECD) في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا. وضمن هذه الكتلة الاقتصادية المتقدمة، تمتلك تركيا أعلى معدل نمو في الطلب على الطاقة مقارنةً بجميع الدول الأعضاء في المنظمة. ووفقاً لوكالة الطاقة الدولية (IEA)، سيستمر النمو باستخدام الطاقة بمعدل سنوي يبلغ نحو 4,5% من عام 2015 إلى عام 2030، حيث سيتضاعف تقريباً خلال العقد المقبل. وتتوقع وكالة الطاقة الدولية أن يزداد الطلب على الكهرباء بوتيرة أسرع (تتم مناقشة قطاع الكهرباء بتفصيل أكبر في القسم 3). كما ارتفع استهلاك المنتجات البترولية في تركيا بشكل بطيء نسبياً بشكلٍ عام خلال العقد الماضي، على الرغم من أن الطلب على وقود السيارات ووقود الطائرات قد ارتفع بقوة أكبر. كما أنّ الضرائب واستبدال استخدام الغاز الطبيعي بدلاً من النفط في محطات توليد الطاقة حدّ من الطلب العام على النفط في هذه الفترة.

الخريطة (2): البُنية التحتية للنفط في تركيا. (المصدر: EIA). أنقر للتكبير. ©Fanack

ويتضح هذا التغيير المتواضع بالإشارة إلى إجمالي الإستهلاك في عام 2011 الذي بلغ 706,000 برميلا في اليوم، حيث ارتفع من 619,000 برميل في اليوم عام 2001. وفي عام 2013، بلغ متوسط إجمالي استهلاك الوقود السائل في تركيا 734,000 برميل في اليوم. كما أن أكثر من 90% من استهلاك النفط الخام وكميات كبيرة من المنتجات النفطية تأتي من الواردات. وتمتلك تركيا العديد من خطوط أنابيب النفط الخام التي تنقل النفط من إيران والعراق وأذربيجان (يمكن قراءة المزيد حول خطوط الأنابيب في تركيا في البند 2.2). ويتم نقل النفط الخام الذي لم يتم استخدامه من قبل المصافي التركية إلى دول أخرى عبر محطات تصدير النفط مثل جيهان (انظر الخريطة 2).

وكحال النفط، تعتبر تركيا مُستهلك كبير للغاز الطبيعي إلا أنّ البلاد تنتج القليل منه. النمو الإجمالي القوي للاقتصاد التركي، وكذلك محطات توليد الطاقة الجديدة التي تعمل بالغاز الطبيعي عوضاً عن النفط (يُستخدم حوالي 60% من الغاز الطبيعي لتوليد الكهرباء) تقود عجلة الاستهلاك. وقد ازداد الاستهلاك بعامل يفوق الـ10 خلال السنوات العشر الماضية، وتضاعف ثلاث مرات تقريباً في العقد الماضي. وفي عام 2011، استحوذ قطاع الطاقة الكهربائية في تركيا على أقل من النصف بقليل (48%) من استخدام الغاز الطبيعي في البلاد. فيما تمثل القطاعات الصناعية والسكنية ما يقرب 20% من الاستهلاك (6% استخدامات تجارية، و4% استخدامات أخرى، و1% للنقل). ويبلغ الطلب على الغاز الطبيعي ذروته في فصل الشتاء، حيث يُستخدم الغاز الطبيعي لتوليد الطاقة وأغراض التدفئة. وقد يكون الطلب خلال أشهر الشتاء ضعف الطلب خلال أشهر الصيف، وهو نمط موسمي شائع في البلدان التي تستخدم الغاز بشكل كبير.

الشكل (2): انتاج واستهلاك وصافي واردات الغاز في تركيا. أضغط للتكبير. (المصدر: EIA). أنقر للتكبير. ©Fanack

تصل معظم واردات تركيا من الغاز الطبيعي إلى البلاد عبر خط الأنابيب، بما في ذلك تلك التي تصل من روسيا (56%) وإيرا (18%) وأذربيجان (8%). غالبية الغاز الروسي يصل عبر خط أنابيب “بلو ستريم” على الرغم من أن كميات كبيرة أيضاً تصل إلى المراكز السكانية الكبيرة داخل وحول مدينة اسطنبول عبر خط أنابيب بلغاريا وتركيا. تلّقت تركيا حوالي 290 مليار قدم مكعب من الغاز الطبيعي الإيراني عبر خط أنابيب تبريز- دوغو بايزيد في عام 2012. في حين وصلت 118 مليار قدم مكعب من أذربيجان عبر خط أنابيب باكو- تبليسي- أرضروم في نفس العام. كما تستورد تركيا أيضاً الغاز الطبيعي المسال (LNG) والتي تبلغ 16% من إجمالي الواردات، وخاصة من الجزائر وقطر ومصر ونيجيريا والنرويج. كميات الغاز الطبيعي المسال تصل إلى البلاد عبر محطتين, مرمرة Ereğlisi  في ستنعم وألياجا في أزمير.


واعتباراً من يناير 2014، امتلكت تركيا 6 مصافي حيث تصل قدرتها مجتمعة على المعالجة إلى 714,275 برميل في اليوم، وفقاً لمجلة النفط والغاز (أنظر الخريطة رقم (2) للتعرف على مواقع المصافي الرئيسية. بُنيت معظم هذه الطاقة التكريرية في الثمانينات (أنظر الشكل (3)). تعتبر شركة توبراش شركة التكرير المُسيطرة على القطاع في تركيا، حيث تعمل على تشغيل أكثر من 85% من إجمالي الطاقة التكريرية فضلاً عن السيطرة على 59% من سعة التخزين الإجمالية للمنتجات البترولية. وبالنظر إلى الطلب، ونمو الطلب، في تركيا هناك فرصة لزيادة الطاقة التكريرية للنفط الخام. وحالياً، تقوم تركيا باستيراد بعض المنتجات وعلى وجه الخصوص الديزل، للتعويض عن عدم كفاية إنتاج المصافي. كما يتم تصدير كميات صغيرة جداً من المنتجات من المصافي بعد تجاوز الطلب المحلي (معظمها من البنزين).

الشكل (3): الطاقة التكريرية في تركيا منذ عام 1980. أضغط للتكبير. (المصدر: EIA)

إمكانيات نقل الغاز والنفط: “الممر الجنوبي”

سي- جيهان 1,2 مليون برميل في اليوم، وكركوك- جيهان 1,4 مليون برميل في اليوم ) وفيما يتعلق بالاستهلاك المحلي للنفط، فضلاً عن القدرة التصديرية، فإن نقل الغاز الطبيعي والطاقة التصديرية تعدّ ذات أهمية كبيرة للطلب العالمي على الطاقة بالأخذ بعين الاعتبار الموقع الاستراتيجي لتركيا. ومع ذلك، لم يتم حتى الآن تحقيق الاستثمار المطلوب بالرغم من وجود خطط لزيادة كفاءة العبور. وبينما تمتعت تركيا بقدرات استيراد ضخمة خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية، إلا أنّ هذا شهد تناقصاً إذ يتم حالياً استخدام غالبية سعة خط الأنابيب لتلبية الطلب المحلي مما يزيد من الضغوطات على البلاد التي تعدّ نقطة عبورٍ للغاز. تُهيمن (BOTAŞ) ، شركة النفط والغاز المملوكة للدولة، على قطاع نقل الغاز، ومن المرجح أن تصبح لاعباً أساسياً في أي جهود لبناء خط أنابيب في المستقبل.

أحد الجوانب الهامة لإدراك إمكانات نقل الغاز عبر تركيا، على المدى القريب، علاقة استيراد أوروبا للغاز الروسي. حيث تمتلك روسيا أكبر احتياطات للغاز في العالم وبالتالي تعدّ المورد الرئيسي للأسواق الأوروبية.

الخريطة رقم (3): الملامح الرئيسية لنظام تصدير الغاز الروسي (الأسواق الغربية). أنقر للتكبير. ©Fanack

وكان الاعتماد على روسيا موضع تساؤل في مناسبات عدة بين الحكومتين الأوكرانية والروسية. وكانت النتيجة نقص الموارد في الأسواق الغربية، كما هو موّضح في الشكل أدناه.

تزوّد روسيا حوالي 30% (5,7 تريليون قدم مكعب) من حجم الاستهلاك في أوروبا، بالإضافة إلى كميات كبيرة تتدفق من أوكرانيا. وتُشير تقديرات إدارة معلومات الطاقة إلى أنّ 16% ( 3,0 تريليون قدم مكعب) من إجمالي الغاز الطبيعي المستهلك في أوروبا مرَّ عبر شبكة أنابيب أوكرانيا عام 2012، استناداً إلى البيانات التي أوردتها شركة غازبروم وشركة إيسترن بلوك إينيرجي. يوجد نظامان من خط الأنابيب الرئيسية التي تحمل الغاز الروسي عبر أوكرانيا إلى أوروبا الغربية: خطوط أنابيب براتستفو (الأخوية) وسويوز (الاتحاد) (أنظر الخريطة رقم (3)).

ي الماضي، عبرت ما تصل نسبته إلى 80% من صادرات الغاز الطبيعي الروسي أوكرانيا. وقد انخفض هذا الرقم إلى 50%-60% منذ مد خط أنابيب نورد ستريم، الذي يربط بشكل مباشر ما بين روسيا وألمانيا تحت بحر البطليق، عام 2011 (أنظر الخريطة رقم (3)). وسعت روسيا إلى تكرار نجاحها في الشمال بإنشاء مشروع مماثل في الجنوب في البحر الأسود يربط روسيا مع بلغاريا، يُسمى ساوث ستريم. وفي حال نجاحه، سيحد بشكل كبير من الاعتماد على أوكرانيا باعتبارها دولة عبور.

ومع ذلك، ومع الأزمة المستمرة في أوكرانيا والعقوبات المفروضة على روسيا من قبل الحكومات الغربية، بات مشروع ساوث ستريم يرزح تحت ضغوطات كبيرة. وقد طلب الاتحاد الأوروبي من أعضائه وقف بناء أجزاء من خط الأنابيب التي تربط بين روسيا وبلغاريا وبالتالي إنهاء فعالية خط الأنابيب. وقد علق الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين أن “روسيا لا يمكنها البدء في بناء خط أنابيب تحت الماء، والتوقف في بلغاريا”. كما أكد الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة جازبروم، أليكسي ميلر في وقت لاحق للصحفيين في انقرة ان “المشروع قد انتهى”. يُظهر الرسم أدناه جزء من خط الانابيب الذي يمتد إلى دول الاتحاد الأوروبي التي طلبت من روسيا التوقف عن البناء.

أنفقت شركة جازبروم 487,5 مليار روبل (9,4 مليار دولار) في السنوات الثلاث الأخيرة على مشروع ساوث ستريم وعلى تحديث خطوط الأنابيب الروسية التي من شأنها دعم المشروع. ويمكن استخدام بعض هذه الأعمال لخط أنابيب منفصل إلى تركيا. ومنذ إلغاء ساوث ستريم، ستركز روسيا على توريد الغاز إلى تركيا عبر خط أنابيب بلو ستريم، لتزيد التدفق بـ3 مليار متر مكعب في العام وتقديم خصم بنسبة 6% ابتداءً من الأول من يناير 2015 وفقاً للرئيس بوتين.

وفي وقت لاحق في يناير، عرضت شركة جازبروم خطة لبناء ما يُسمى بخط أنابيب “ترك ستريم“. وذكر الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة جازبروم، ميلر، أن خط الأنابيب سيتألف من أربع خطوط بسعة 15,75 مليار متر مكعب لكلٍ منها، حيث سيغذي الخط الأول تركيا فقط (لم يكن هناك أي تعليق حول وجهة الخطوط الثلاث الأخرى). وللتوضيح، بلغت صادرات خطوط الغاز إلى تركيا من روسيا عبر المسار الحالي 27,4 مليار متر مكعب عام 2014. سيتم إنشاء خط الأنابيب الأول تحت البحر الأسود لنقل الغاز إلى مقاطعة تراقيا التركية الأوروبية، حيث تتلقى تركيا عبره حالياً بالفعل 14 مليون متر مكعب سنوياً. وأضاف ميلر أن تركيا وروسيا ستوقعان اتفاقية لبناء خط الأنابيب في الربع الثاني من عام 2015. ولم تكشف جازبروم بعد التكلفة التقديرية للمشروع. وإذا ما كان الاتحاد الأوروبي يرغب في الاستفادة من هذا الاصدار الجديد لخط أنابيب “ساوث ستريم”، يتوجب عليهم بناء وصلات خاصة بهم عبر خط أنابيب تركيا المقترح للحصول على الغاز الروسي وتجاوز أوكرانيا.

والمخطط إنشاؤها التي تعبر تركيا. أضغط للتكبير. أنقر للتكبير. ©Fanack

ومع ذلك، فإن فشل “ساوث ستريم” والطبيعة المتوقعة لـ”ترك ستريم” يعني أنّ مسارات الإمداد عبر أوكرانيا لا تزال حاضرة، وسيعمل الخلاف الدبلوماسي الحالي على زيادة التركيز على ما اصطلح تسميته “الممر الجنوبي“: مسار خط الأنابيب الذي يعبر أذربيجان، وجورجيا، وتركيا. وتوّضح الخريطة أدناه هذا الممر بشكل رئيسي عن طريق خط أنابيب قيد التطوير من قِبل شركة بي بي وآخرون، الذي يهدف إلى ربط حقول غاز شاه دنيز (الأول والثاني) في بحر قزوين بالأسواق الأوروبية.

خطوط الأنابيب هي خط أنابيب جنوب القوقاز (بالأصفر) والمعروف أيضاً باسم (BTE)( باكو- تبليسي-أرضروم)، وخط أنابيب عبر الأناضول (بالأحمر)، وخط أنابيب عبر البحر الأدرياتيكي (بالأزرق). وقد تجلت قدرة الممر الجنوبي على هيمنة الغاز الروسي في التزوّد من الموردين الشرقيين كمفهوم قابل للاستمرار مع بناء نظام خط أنابيب النفط باكو- تبليسي- جيهان (انظر الخريطة 2).

خطوط الأنابيب عبر الأناضول وعبر البحر الأدرياتيكي، الذي سيكمل ارتباط خط أنابيب ( باكو- تبليسي-أرضروم) للغاز إلى أوروبا، لا تزال في مرحلة التخطيط. ويتوقع الانتهاء من خطوط الأنابيب هذه في 2017-2018، عنما يبدأ نقل صادرات الغاز من حقل شاه دنيز 2، ومطابقة مواعيد الإنتاج المتوقع من حقل الغاز. وتطورت الأرقام إلى عام 2026، إذ يتوقع أن تصل التدفقات إلى 60 مليار متر مكعب. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن مسار خط الأنابيب المقدّم يمكن أن يكون بمثابة أساس لتصدير الغاز إلى أوروبا بكميات أكبر من الغاز الأذربيجاني. وتتضمن هذه الغاز من المنتجين التركمان والكازاخستانيين عبر خط أنابيب بحر قزوين (TCP) تحت بحر قزوين. ولكن، بما أنه لم يتم الإتفاق على أي خطوط ملموسة فضلاً على أنّ تطوير خطوط أنابيب الغاز الدولية الكبرى يتطلب سنوات من التخطيط قبل أن يتم لحم أنبوب واحد، فإنه من غير الممكن في هذا الوقت مناقشة خط أنابيب بحر قزوين بأي قدر من اليقين.

تطور آخر قد يؤكد هيمنة تصدير الغاز الروسي خط أنابيب نابوكو المُقترح. سيوصل نابوكو إنتاج بحر قزوين، بالإضافة إلى كميات الغاز عبر خط أنابيب بحر قزوين (TCP). بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تنتهج نابوكو خيار إضافي لربط حقول الغاز في إيران. وتمتلك إيران ثاني أكبر احتياطي للغاز في العالم وقد تم تجاهل دورها في قطاع الغاز العالمي إلى حد كبير بسبب المشاكل الدبلوماسية (انظر التقرير: إيران، لمناقشة متعمقة لقطاع الطاقة الإيراني والوضع الدبلوماسي).

مجموعة مشاريع خطوط الأنابيب المحتملة في الممر الجنوبي، بالإضافة إلى التطورات الجارية للغاز الطبيعي المسال في قطر (أنظر تقرير قطر) قد تقوّض إلى حدٍ كبير هيمنة الغاز الروسي، وتحسّن فرص إيران في الاستفادة من إمكانيات الإمدادات في الممر الجنوبي. ومع ذلك، لا يزال المفهوم بأكمله نظرياً إلى حدٍ كبير. وحالياً، تمنع العقوبات الغربية خيارات التصدير الإيرانية. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، لا يوجد فرصة لوصول الغاز الذي يتم إنتاجه في كازاخستان وأوزبكستان إلى نظام نقل الممر الجنوبي دون بناء خط أنابيب بحر قزوين (TCP) وخطيّ الأنابيب اللذان يصلان كازخستان بباكو.

وفي حال المضي قُدماً بهذه التطورات، فإن سلامة مشروع الممر الجنوبي، وبالتالي مسار إمداد نابوكو سيزداد بشكل كبير، في حين أن سيطرة روسيا على سوق الغاز ستنخفض بحدٍ متساوٍ. ومع ذلك، يبقى أن نرى ما إذا كانت الاستثمارات الرئيسية اللازمة لتحقيق المشروع قريبة. وفي الوقت نفسه، ستحتاج تركيا إلى تلبية الإستهلاك المحلي المتنامي والذي قد يؤثر على توقعات قدرات إعادة التصدير/ والعبور.

الكهرباء

يتم توليد الطاقة الكهربائية في تركيا بشكل أساسي تقريباً من الوقود الأحفوري والطاقة الكهرومائية، حيث بلغت القدرة الإنتاجية 56,1 مليون كيلوواط عام 2012، في حين يعتبر الغاز الطبيعي المصدر الأكثر أهمية.

تعتبر تركيا منتجا صغيرا للفحم إلا أنها أيضاً تستورد الفحم لتزويد قطاع الطاقة الكهربائية، حيث ارتفعت الواردات إلى 23% من إجمالي إمدادات الفحم عام 2012. وفي عام 2008، بلغ إجمالي احتياطيات الفحم القابل للاسترداد 2,36 مليار طن مكعب، منها 529 مليون طن مكعب فقط، أو حوالي 23% من “الفحم الصلب” (أنثراسايت والقطران). أما ما تبقى، 1,83 مليون طن مكعب تتكون من احتياطيات فحم الليغنيت. وصل الإنتاج عام 2011 إلى 75,4 مليون طن مكعب. وجزء صغير من هذا الإنتاج، 6% فقط من القار. وتمتلك تركيا العديد من مناجم الليغنيت، ولكن تمتلك فقط منجم واحد للقار. استوردت تركيا حوالي 27 مليون طن مكعب عام 2010، وعلى الأغلب رقم مماثل عام 2011 من أجل تلبية استهلاك عام 2011 الذي بلغ 104 مليون طن مكعب.

الخريطة رقم (4): توليد الكهرباء بالوقود. أنقر للتكبير. ©Fanack

التنويع بدلاً من استخدام الغاز المستورد لتوليد الطاقة واستغلال احتياطاتها المحلية من الفحم، في محاولة لتعزيز دورها كدولة لعبور الغاز.

كما ازدادت أهمية الطاقة الكهرومائية من خلال زيادة الإستثمار في القطاع. ووفقاً لتقديرات الحكومة، تمتلك البلاد حوالي 1% من القدرات الكهرومائية في العالم في ممراتها المائية. هناك العديد من الأنهار الكبيرة، بما في ذلك دجلة والفرات التي تتدفق في النهاية إلى العراق والخليج الفارسي. وتُقدر إمكانيات قدرة الطاقة الكهرومائية في تركيا بـ35,000 ميجاواط. وتبلغ الطاقة المركبة حالياً 23 جيجاواط، وفقا للجمعية الدولية للطاقة الكهرومائية.

وقعت تركيا اتفاقاً مع روسيا في 2010 لبناء أول محطة للطاقة النووية في تركيا في أكويو على ساحل البحر المتوسط. وستتضمن المحطة أربع وحدات بسعة إجمالية قدرها 4,2 جيجاواط وستبدأ التشغيل عام 2020. المستثمرون الروس، شركة روساتوم، وافقت على تمويل نسبة كبيرة من المشروع. ومع ذلك، فإن العديد من الوزارات التركية لا تزال بحاجة إلى الموافقة على المشروع قبل أن يبدأ البناء رسمي.


[1]  الفحم والنفط والغاز.
[2]  “تقليدي” يستثني ما يُشار إليه عادةً بـ”رمال القطران” أو “الرمال النفطية” وهو عبارة عن البيتومين مختلط مع الرمل والطين الذي يمكن استخراجه باستخدام تقنيات غير تقليدية، وتحويله إلى النفط الخام الاصطناعي.

Home / Turkey

Turkey

Turkey energy oil tanker bosphorus
An oil tanker passing through the Bosphorus strait in Turkey. Photo Alexxx Malev/Flickr

Contents

Oil and Gas: Limited Supply
Turkey Oil and Gas: Growing Demand
Oil and gas transit potential: the “Southern Corridor”
Electricity

Introduction

Turkey energy state borders
Map 1. Turkey and its neighbours. Source: Fanack after CIA World Factbook.

Turkey, while not a large supplier of energy, is a major demand centre in the MENA region and a net importer of all three major fossil fuel sources [1]. The country also has significant geostrategic importance. This stems in large measure from its geographic location and its military capability. Turkey’s membership in NATO goes back to the Cold War and it today maintains the second-largest standing army in the security bloc. Its proximity to the former Soviet Union made it an important country to include in the NATO alliance.

With regard to energy, geography is primary as Turkey controls the Bosporus and Dardanelles straits – the Turkish straits linking the Black Sea with the Mediterranean, through which an average of 3 million barrels of oil per day (mb/d) were transported in 2013 – hence controlling a choke point on one of Russia’s three crude oil maritime export routes.

Furthermore, the fact that Turkey shares land borders with Iraq, Iran, Syria, Armenia and Georgia to its east, and Bulgaria and Greece to its west means the country is uniquely placed to link supply centres in the Middle East with energy markets in Europe. The possibility of Turkey ultimately providing an alternative export pipeline system to Russian pipeline gas looms large on the global energy scene. This possibility ensures that Turkey maintains a prominent position in any discussion of major supply, demand or transit players.

Oil and Gas: Limited Supply


Turkey may not be a significant supply centre but it is a significant oil and gas demand centre in the MENA region, making it an export destination for oil from major regional players in Iran, Iraq and Saudi Arabia as well as extra-regional players in Russia, Kazakhstan and Africa. Furthermore, it is a compelling transport route, along which much more oil transits than is consumed. Turkey has conventional [2] proven oil reserves of 295 million barrels (or about 4.5 days’ worth of world oil production). These are mostly located in the Batman and Adiyaman provinces in the south-east (which is also where most of Turkey’s oil production occurs), with additional deposits found in Thrace in the north-west. Turkey’s oil production peaked in 1991 at 85,000 barrels per day (bbl/d), but declined over the next 13 years to a low of 43,000bbl/d before experiencing a modest revival in early 2004. Yet although Turkey’s production of liquid fuels has increased slightly since 2004, it falls far short of the country’s annual needs, with 2012 production (nearly 60,000bbl/d) providing for only about 10% of national consumption.

Proven natural gas reserves in Turkey amount to 6.17 billion cubic metres (BCM). The country produces a very small amount of natural gas, with total production amounting to 22 billion cubic feet (BCF) in 2012 and providing less than 2% of consumption. Turkiye Petrolleri A.O. (TPAO), BP, and Royal Dutch Shell account for most of the country’s natural gas production. In recent years, a number of natural gas fields have been brought on line in the Black Sea, including Akçakoca, East Ayazli, Akkaya and Ayazli. Despite the limited proven reserves, gas exploration efforts have increased, particularly offshore. Supermajor Royal Dutch Shell is poised to spend $300 million on an exploration programme in the Turkish Black Sea, and ExxonMobil, Chevron and Petrobras have ongoing exploration programmes there. Exploration for unconventional (shale) gas reserves has also increased. Despite the ongoing struggle for Kurdish autonomy by the PKK and potential spillover from the war in Syria, Shell has an agreement with TPAO for shale gas exploration, with the Turkish firm taking a 70% share of production and Shell receiving 30%.

Turkey energy oil production
Figure 1. Oil production since 1980. Click to enlarge.

Oil and Gas: Growing Demand


After Israel, Turkey is the only member of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) in the MENA region. Within this advanced economic block, Turkey is forecast to see the highest growth in energy demand of all OECD countries. According to the International Energy Agency (IEA), energy use will continue to grow at an annual rate of around 4.5% from 2015 to 2030, approximately doubling over the next decade. The IEA expects electricity demand to increase at an even faster pace (electricity is discussed further here). Turkey’s petroleum product consumption increased relatively slowly overall in the past decade, though demand for automotive fuels and jet fuel rose more strongly. Taxes and changes from oil-fired to natural gas-fired power plants suppressed overall oil demand in this period. The modest change is illustrated by noting that total consumption in 2011 was 706,000bbl/d, up from 619,000bbl/d in 2001. In 2013, Turkey’s total liquid fuels consumption averaged 734,800bbl/d. More than 90% of crude oil consumption and significant quantities of petroleum products came from imports. Turkey has various crude oil pipelines that bring oil from neighbouring Iran, Iraq and Azerbaijan (more on pipelines in Turkey can be found in subsection 2.2.). Crude oil that is not used by Turkish refineries is transported to other countries via oil export terminals such as Ceyhan (see map 2).

Turkey energy oil and gas infrastructure
Map 2. Oil infrastructure in Turkey. (source: IEA). Click to enlarge.

As with oil, Turkey is a large consumer of natural gas but a small producer. The overall strong growth of the Turkish economy, as well as new power plants being gas fired rather than oil fired (about 60% of natural gas is used for electricity generation), is driving consumption. Consumption has increased by a factor of more than 10 in the past 20 years, and has nearly tripled in the past decade. In 2011, Turkey’s electric power sector accounted for just under half (48%) of the country’s natural gas use. The industrial and residential sectors each accounted for approximately 20% (with 6% going to commercial uses, 4% going to other uses and 1% going to transport). Natural gas demand peaks in the winter months, when natural gas use for power generation and space heating is highest. Demand during the winter months can be double the demand during the summer months, a common seasonal pattern in high gas use countries.

Most of Turkey’s natural gas imports arrive in the country via pipeline, including those from Russia (56%), Iran (18%) and Azerbaijan (8%). The majority of Russian gas arrives via the Blue Stream pipeline, although sizeable volumes also reach the large population centres in and around Istanbul via the Bulgaria-Turkey pipeline. Turkey received about 290BCF of Iranian natural gas via the Tabriz-Doğubayazit pipeline in 2012. An additional 118BCF arrived from Azerbaijan via the Baku-Tbilisi-Erzurum (BTE) pipeline in the same year. Turkey also imports liquefied natural gas (LNG) amounting to 16% of total imports, particularly from Algeria, Qatar, Egypt, Nigeria and Norway. LNG volumes arrive at the country’s two terminals, Marmara Ereğlisi in Tekirdağ and Aliağa in Izmir.

As of 1 January 2014, Turkey had six refineries with a combined processing capacity of 714,275bbl/d, according to Oil & Gas Journal (see map 2 for the locations of key refineries). The majority of this refining capacity was built up in the 1980s (see figure 3).

Tüpraş is Turkey’s dominant refining firm, operating more than 85% of the total refining capacity as well as controlling 59% of the total petroleum products’ storage capacity. Given demand – and demand growth – in Turkey, there is room for increased crude oil refining capacity. Currently, Turkey imports some products, particularly diesel, to make up for inadequate refinery output. A smaller amount of products for which refinery output exceeds local demand is exported (mostly gasoline).

Gas Production, Consumption and Net Imports Turkey energy
Figure 2: Turkish Gas Production, Consumption and Net Imports. Click to enlarge.
Turkish energy refinery capacity
Figure 3. Turkish Refinery Capacity since 1980. Click to enlarge.

Oil and gas transit potential: the “Southern Corridor”


Russian gas export system to Western markets Turkey energy
Map 3. Russian gas export system to Western markets and Turkey’s strategic position. Source: Gazprom. Click to enlarge.

In addition to the oil pipelines in map 2 (Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan 1.2mb/d and Kirkuk-Ceyhan 1.4mb/d) relevant for domestic consumption of oil as well as export capacity, natural gas transit and export capacity is of significant interest to the global energy demand and supply picture, given Turkey’s strategic location. To date, however, the requisite investment has not materialized although there are plans to increase transit capacity. While Turkey enjoyed considerable excess import capacity a few years ago, this has eroded as most of the pipeline capacity is now used to meet domestic demand, putting pressure on the country’s function as a gas transit state. BOTAŞ, Turkey’s state-owned oil and gas company, dominates the gas transit sector and, all being equal, will likely be a key player in any future pipeline endeavours.

An important aspect of the interest in and near-term urgency of realizing Turkey’s gas transit potential is Europe’s import relationship with Russian gas. Russia is the world’s largest holder of proven gas reserves and as such is the primary supplier of European markets. The reliability of Russia as a supplier has been called into question on several occasions over rows between the governments in Ukraine and Moscow. The result has been gaps in supply to Western markets.

Russia supplies around 30% (5.7 trillion cubic feet, TCF) of Europe’s consumption volume, with a significant amount flowing through Ukraine. The Energy Information Administration (EIA) estimates that 16% (3.0TCF) of the total natural gas consumed in Europe passed through Ukraine’s pipeline network in 2012, based on data reported by Gazprom and Eastern Bloc Energy. Two major pipeline systems carry Russian gas through Ukraine to Western Europe: the Bratstvo (Brotherhood) and Soyuz (Union) pipelines (see map 3).

In the past, as much as 80% of Russian natural gas exports to Europe transited Ukraine. This number has fallen to 50%-60% since the Nord Stream pipeline, a direct link between Russia and Germany under the Baltic Sea, came online in 2011 (see map 3). Russia has hence sought to replicate its success in the north with a southern equivalent in the Black Sea linking Russia with Bulgaria, called South Stream. If successful, the project would dramatically reduce dependence on Ukraine as a transit country.

However, with the ongoing crisis in Ukraine and sanctions imposed against Russia by Western governments, the South Stream project has unsurprisingly come under pressure. The EU has asked member states to stop the construction of parts of the pipeline connecting Russia with Bulgaria, effectively terminating the pipeline. Russian President Vladimir Putin has commented that “Russia can’t start building an underwater pipeline and stop at Bulgaria”. Gazprom’s Chief Executive Officer Alexey Miller later affirmed to reporters in Ankara that “the project is over”.

Gazprom had spent 487.5 billion roubles ($9.4 billion) in the last three years on South Stream and upgrading the Russian pipelines that would have supplied it, according to bond filings. Some of that work can be used for a separate link to Turkey. Since the cancellation of South Stream, Russia will concentrate on supplying gas to Turkey through the Blue Stream pipeline, increasing deliveries by 3BCM a year and offering a 6% discount from 1 January 2015, according to President Putin.

oil and gas pipelines in Turkey energy
Map 4. Existing and planned oil and gas pipelines running through Turkey. Click to enlarge.

Later in January, Gazprom introduced a plan to build the so-called “Turk Stream” pipeline. Gazprom CEO Miller said the new pipeline would consist of four lines of 15.75BCM each, with the first one to supply Turkey only (no comment was given regarding the destination of the other three lines). For reference, gas lines to Turkey from Russia through existing routes numbered imports of 27.4BCM in 2014. The first line will be laid under the Black Sea to deliver gas to Turkey’s European province of Thrace, a route through which Turkey currently receives 14 BCM/y already. Miller added that Russia and Turkey would sign an agreement to build the pipeline in the second quarter of 2015. Gazprom has still to reveal the estimated cost of the project. If the EU were to tap this new version of South Stream, it would have to build its own link to the proposed pipeline to Turkey in order to get Russian gas bypassing Ukraine.

However, the failure of South Stream and the speculative nature of Turk Stream means that supply routes through Ukraine remain in play and the present diplomatic row will serve to increase emphasis on what has been termed the “Southern Corridor”: the pipeline route through Azerbaijan, Georgia and Turkey. The map below illustrates this corridor in the main by means of the pipeline route under development by BP and others, which aims to connect the Shah Deniz (I and II) gas fields in the Caspian with European markets.

The pipelines are the South Caucasus Pipeline, also known as the BTE (Baku-Tbilisi-Erzurum) pipeline, the Trans-Anatolian Pipeline and Trans-Adriatic Pipeline. The ability of the Southern Corridor to counter, or at least check, Russia’s gas dominance by sourcing from eastern suppliers has been demonstrated as a viable concept with the construction of the Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan oil pipeline system (see map 2). The Trans-Anatolian and Trans-Adriatic pipelines, which would complete the link from the BTE gas pipeline to Europe, are at the planning stage.

The expected completion of these pipelines is 2017-2018, when they will begin moving gas exports from Shah Deniz II, meeting expected production times of the gas field. Figures have been advanced out to 2026, with flow expectation reaching as high as 60BCM. Furthermore, the pipeline route being demonstrated could serve as the basis for gas exports to Europe beyond Azerbaijani gas. These include gas from Turkmen and Kazakh producers through the possible Trans-Caspian Pipeline (TCP) below the Caspian Sea. However, as no concrete plans have been agreed upon and developing major international gas pipelines takes years of planning before a single pipe is welded, it is not possible at this time to discuss the TCP with any certainty.

Another development that could check Russian gas export dominance is the proposed Nabucco pipeline. Nabucco would connect to Caspian production as well as gas volumes arriving through the TCP, were it to be realized. In addition, Nabucco touts an additional option of connecting to gas fields in Iran. Iran is the world’s second-largest gas reserve holder and its role in global gas has been largely overlooked due to diplomatic problems (see Iran for an in-depth discussion of Iranian energy and the diplomatic situation).

The mass of potential pipeline projects in the Southern Corridor, in addition to LNG developments underway in Qatar may indeed seriously undermine Russia’s gas dominance, and improve Iran’s prospects to tap into the Southern Corridor’s supply potential. The entire concept, however, is still largely theoretical. Western sanctions currently inhibit Iran’s export options. Additionally, gas produced in Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan has no chance of reaching the Southern Corridor transit system without the construction of the TCP and the two pipelines linking Kazakhstan to Baku.

Were these developments to go ahead, the viability of the Southern Corridor and hence the Nabucco supply route would increase enormously, with Russia’s control of the gas market reduced in commensurate measure. It remains to be seen, however, if the major investment necessary to realize the project will be forthcoming. Meanwhile, Turkey’s need to satisfy its rapidly growing domestic consumption will weigh on any expectations of re-export/transit capacity.

Electricity

Turkey electricity generation energy
Figure 4. Electricity generation by fuel.

Fossil fuel and hydroelectricity generation accounts for nearly all of Turkey’s electricity generation capacity (56.1 million kilowatts in 2012), with natural gas as the most important source.

Turkey is a small producer of coal but also imports coal to supply the electric power sector – imports were 23% of total coal supply in 2012. As of 2008, total recoverable coal reserves were 2.36 billion metric tons, of which only 529 million metric tons, or about 23%, was “hard coal” (anthracite and bituminous). The remainder, 1.83 billion metric tons, consists of lignite coal reserves. Production in 2011 was 75.4 million metric tons. Only a small fraction of that production – less than 6% – is bituminous. Turkey has several lignite mines, but only one bituminous mine. Turkey imported about 27 million metric tons in 2010, and likely a similar figure in 2011 in order to satisfy 2011 consumption of 104 million metric tons. In early 2013, Platts reported that “interest in developing coal-fired plants in Turkey has increased dramatically recently”. This followed statements by Energy Minister Taner Yildiz that Turkey has to diversify away from using imported gas to generate power and to make more of its underused domestic coal reserves, ostensibly in an effort to boost its role as a gas transit state.

Hydroelectric has also grown in importance, with investment in the sector. The country has, by government estimate, about 1% of the world’s hydroelectric potential in its waterways. There are several large rivers, including the Tigris and Euphrates that eventually flow in to Iraq and the Persian Gulf. Turkey’s viable hydroelectric capacity potential is estimated at 35,000 megawatts (MW). The installed capacity is currently about 23 gigawatts (GW), according to the International Hydropower Association.

Turkey signed an agreement with Russia in 2010 to build Turkey’s first nuclear power plant in Akkuyu, on the Mediterranean coast. The plant would have four units with a total capacity of 4.2GW and begin operating around 2020. Russian investors, namely Rosatom, agreed to finance a large proportion of the project. However, several Turkish ministries still need to approve the project before formal construction begins.


[1] Coal, oil and gas.
[2] “Conventional” excludes what are commonly referred to as “tar sands” or “oil sands”, bitumen mixed with sand and clay that can be extracted with unconventional techniques and turned into synthetic crude oil.